Imagine all the people…

I know I am day early making a Lennon reference, but I am writing now, so…

During my cave time, I did some serious searching.  Trying to find help for someone in my predicament. Fortunately, I had good friends to help me as well as an amazing little boy who kept me moving forward even when I just wanted to give up.  I truly love my son more than anything else in this world.  I know that more than ever, now.

Anyway,…

Near the tail end of my, let’s just call it “down time”, I began searching a site called meetup.com.  I had originally joined this site in the hopes of finding a running group.  Some people who maybe get together to jog or train.  Just to get some exercise into my routine.  Nothing panned out, so I bought running shoes for Jakob and I and we begin running a mile a day. (Then I injured myself on the job and was forbidden to run, and am still on hiatus.)

Anyway,…

As I began to feel better, more solid in my mind and soul, I searched meetup again.  This time for a support group for people who are suffering from depression and anxiety.  People who may even feel suicidal.  There were none.

So, I started one.  I felt that it was important to offer support to anyone out there who may not be as fortunate as I was.  Someone who maybe doesn’t have any friends they can be honest with and not feel like a burden. Someone who doesn’t have an amazing child who makes them smile and laugh in spite of it all.

As soon as I started the group I received responses.  There are so many sad people out there who maybe cannot afford therapy, and just need someone to guide them through the rough patches of sea.  To be around others who are perhaps experiencing something similar, just so that they can have it acknowledged that they are not alone.  They are worthy and lovable and necessary.

We have our first meeting this Sunday, and I cannot wait. I am so excited to help, it’s like an early Christmas.

Here is a link to the group, if you know someone you think might benefit: http://www.meetup.com/DepressionCommunitySupport/

“You may think I’m a dreamer. Well, I’m not the only one.”

Peace.

 

About "Mike"

"We only become what we are by the radical and deep-seated refusal of that which others have made of us." - Jean-Paul Sartre "Change and growth take place when a person has risked himself and dares to become involved with experimenting with his own life." - Herbert Otto "Heed the still small voice that so seldom leads us wrong, and never into folly." - Marquise du Deffand "Your real influence is measured by your treatment of yourself." - A. Bronson Alcott "Energy and persistence conquer all things." - Benjamin Franklin "If we all did the things we are capable of, we would astound ourselves." - Thomas Edison "A man who finds no satisfaction in himself will seek for it in vain elsewhere." - La Rochefoucauld
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Imagine all the people…

  1. Kelso says:

    Brilliant! Perfect! I applaud you, Sir!

    Like

  2. chriss jones says:

    God bless you for giving for you have now received. I applaud you. It’s great that you have found a great combination of spending time with Jake with health benefits for both of u. You r in my prayers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

