Always starting over, but I always know where to begin…

I knew my entire attitude had changed when I was able to see this newest “moment” not as a set back, but as a way to prove to myself the strength of my resolve.  The best thing I can do is to, in the immortal words of Gold Five, stay on target.

It is so familiar to me to spin out when I get hit with something that is upsetting.  Like an addict, my tendency is to cling to it and stew.  I guess those days are behind me.  Even though I felt a deep sadness and experienced thoughts that would have driven Pink mad, (Wow. The obscure reference is just flowing tonight) I “maintained low tones”. (Couldn’t resist that one)

There were moments, I will not lie.  If I am truly to succeed in this venture, then I must be forthcoming in all things.  This one was difficult, for sure.  But, here I am.  Still standing, better than I’ve ever been.  (Okay.  I’ll stop)

It’s funny how the simple change in perspective can produce glorious results.  I was actually rewarded for my success.  Much like a gold star on a well done spelling test, I had something happen to me tonight that lifted my spirits significantly.  I am grateful to be able to report that.

All in all – I’m trying.  Doing my best to live each day as an example to myself – and above all, my son.  After all, he will look to me at times on how to conduct himself, and how to handle things that come your way.  I owe it to him to thrive, and climb those steps arms held high while “Gonna Fly Now” plays. (I said I would stop, didn’t I? Sorry.) At this point it would be so incredibly selfish of me to wallow and pine over what I don’t have, when what’s right in front of me is the most amazing thing ever.

<deep breath> <let it out>

And, off we go….

About "Mike"

"We only become what we are by the radical and deep-seated refusal of that which others have made of us." - Jean-Paul Sartre "Change and growth take place when a person has risked himself and dares to become involved with experimenting with his own life." - Herbert Otto "Heed the still small voice that so seldom leads us wrong, and never into folly." - Marquise du Deffand "Your real influence is measured by your treatment of yourself." - A. Bronson Alcott "Energy and persistence conquer all things." - Benjamin Franklin "If we all did the things we are capable of, we would astound ourselves." - Thomas Edison "A man who finds no satisfaction in himself will seek for it in vain elsewhere." - La Rochefoucauld
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

