The love that I was giving you was never in doubt…

There are exactly four women on this planet that make me melt like a little boy falling in love for the first time every time I see them.  You know what I mean?  That full on deep body sigh that just makes everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, go away.  It is truly remarkable the effect a beautiful woman (or man… insert your definition of beautiful here – because, tastes vary) can have on the soul.  There is no wish to claim or conquer.  No thoughts of sex or any sort of physical love.  It’s as if you have been struck by a magical being whose power is to make you feel, for a fleeting instant, what true joy/love/happiness/oneness can be.  There is no thought, there is not even a sense of self. There is just the purity of existence. Then, your brain kicks back in and all of that other crap comes rushing in.  But, for that one moment… the world was perfect.

It is truly my belief that these beings are the same beings we read about in myths and legends.  Magical creatures of breathtaking beauty who overwhelm us with the genuine love we feel for them at first sight.  Remarkable.  I know I can’t be the only one to have experienced this, and if I am…  I am so very sorry for you. It is, by far, among the most peaceful moments of my life.

There was a girl I used to work with in Seattle, and her name – believe it or not – was Ariel.  She was this beautiful little skater girl, who would dye her hair in the craziest ways.  My favorite was when she shaved her entire head (pretty close, but not bald), and left two long strips at the front.  She then dyed her hair like a ladybug, and braided the long strips to make them look like little antennae.  It was absolutely adorable.  I had the biggest crush on this girl. Being a man who is in no way good with talking to “the ladies” I had no idea how to approach this girl.  She was so pretty, and I was TERRIFIED of her. So, one day, I summoned up all of my courage and went to my work. She was busing a table when I walked in, so she was alone – thankfully.  I walked right up to her and said, “Hey, Ariel.  I was wondering if sometime you’d like to go to the park and fly a kite with me?”  I’m not kidding.  That’s what I said.  (Told you I’m no good at this) She was sweet to me, and said, “Sure”, but it never happened.

Anyway,…

It’s funny (WARNING: Tangent), I actually started this post with a completely different direction in mind.  Now that I am here, I don’t think I want to go that direction any more.  I had decided to write a blog post dedicated to one of the women I mentioned at the beginning of this post.  It’s no surprise, as I am pretty obvious about her.  I was going to write about Tina Fey, and all the reasons I think she’s amazing. Smart, funny, strong, beautiful, glasses and on and on.  I had intended to get into much more detail, but that pretty much summed it up.  So, now what?

Let’s see…. anyone ever get into pogs?  Is that what they were called, pogs?  Am I even spelling it right?  I have no idea what the hell they are.  Was it a game or something?  All I know is, they’re round bits of cardboard with an image printed on them.  That’s my pog knowledge.

Well, shit.  That didn’t work.  What else?

Watched Total Recall tonight on SyFy.  What a crap movie that is, huh?  I remembered it being kind of fun.  No, not at all.  It’s just bad.  And, let’s face it, it’s difficult to watch Arnie in anything now that he’s been governor. And, seeing “SyFy” in the corner of the screen instead of SciFi just irritated me.

Man,… I got nuthin.

OH!  I know!  Have you ever noticed the Stormtrooper that bonks his head on the door when he enters the room in the first Star Wars movie?  (Ep IV: A New Hope for all of you out there that might think I mean Episode One <—– GEEK!!!)  It’s true, look for it.  It’s when Artoo and 3PO are hiding out in the control room, and a group of Stormtroopers walks in.  There’s one on the right (your right) who bonks his head on the door as he walks in, and they didn’t remove it from the movie.  It might not be on the “Special Edition”.  I never watch that version – it’s shit.  But, the theatrical release – it’s there.

(And, we’re back) So, yeah.  I am grateful for the experience these women give me, as it is the closest to meditation I get.  If I could spend an hour each day sitting with and talking to these women, it might blow the whole thing.  So, I am grateful for my romanticized version of them.  It’s like that scene in City Slickers where Mitch Robbins (Billy Crystal) is riding along side Curly (Jack Palance) and they are talking about love.  Curly tells Mitch a story about this woman he once saw that he fell madly in love with.  When pressed about whether he spoke to this girl or not, he answers no.  Mitch then says, “She may have been the love of your life.”  Curly, wizened old cowboy, says simply,…

“She is.”

About "Mike"

"We only become what we are by the radical and deep-seated refusal of that which others have made of us." - Jean-Paul Sartre "Change and growth take place when a person has risked himself and dares to become involved with experimenting with his own life." - Herbert Otto "Heed the still small voice that so seldom leads us wrong, and never into folly." - Marquise du Deffand "Your real influence is measured by your treatment of yourself." - A. Bronson Alcott "Energy and persistence conquer all things." - Benjamin Franklin "If we all did the things we are capable of, we would astound ourselves." - Thomas Edison "A man who finds no satisfaction in himself will seek for it in vain elsewhere." - La Rochefoucauld
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

