‘Cause, I’ve got a golden ticket…

My son, Jakob (with a ‘k’ – a fact he is most proud of) is, by far, the best person I have ever met in my entire friggin life. He is kind, gentle, brilliant, honest, strong, silent, and absolutely hilarious. There are not enough descriptors in any language anywhere in the entire universe to accurately describe my son or the love I have for him.  I am sure any parent out there would agree when thinking of their own child.  Unfortunately for you, mine’s better. (grin)

There are so many little moments I could share that would both make you smile and cry at the same time.  From year one, he has shown a sensitivity to people and life that is beyond his years. I know he is just a boy and still growing, but he is already a good man. It is my sincerest hope that I am able to offer an environment for him that keeps him that way.

I have been very selfish for the majority of my life.  I am always in my head, so I don’t mean it as an arrogant or negative thing.  I just think so much I forget about the outside perspective.  Which is why I am grateful to those friends who love me enough to tap me on the shoulder and say “Dude” when I need it. (Not sure of the punctuation there. Should there be a comma before and after “Dude”?) But, when it comes to Jakob, I try my damnedest to let him know he is most important. I am human, so sometimes I slip. But, I hug him multiple times throughout the day, every day.  I tell him I love him every day. And, I try to remind him of just how awesome he is when he is not expecting it.

One of my favorite things to experience, when he was 3 or 4 years old, was introducing him to people for the first time.  They would get that look on their face everyone gets when talking with a child. Then, he would start to speak with them, and gradually their expression would change. I would stand back and watch it happen, almost to the second. Their face would change to a look of, “I am actually involved in a genuine conversation with a child. Like, a real conversation.” It was awesome to behold.

Then there is the classic story of the time I showed him The Neverending Story. He was three or four at the time.  I was cleaning the kitchen in my old house on 22nd, and Jakob was in the living room watching the movie. I was standing on the counters wiping down the tops of the cabinets, when from the living room I hear this tiny voice say, dripping with contempt, “The Nothing?  They call it The Nothing?” I started laughing so hard I was in danger of falling off the counter.

So, long story short, my kid is amazing. I am a better man for him being in my life. He is the reason I try my best to be a better man, always. I want to lead by example.

I have spoken of Jakob many times in my blog, but it was time for him to get his own post.  His own moment in the sun. Beyond time, actually. And, he deserves more than I could possible say here, even if I wrote for a week straight. I feel as though I haven’t written nearly enough.

If there is a God, and if he cares for me at all, then I would ask only this one thing… Keep my son the same amazing, beautiful, loving person he is today. I know he will experience heartbreak and sorrow.  I know life wont always be easy.  But, surround him with people who will give him love and support.  Give him the tools to flourish as a kind soul in an angry world.  Allow him to keep his heart open and compassionate.  Let him be even more amazing than he already is. Please.

This world needs people like Jakob. More and more every day.

Go hug someone.

About "Mike"

"We only become what we are by the radical and deep-seated refusal of that which others have made of us." - Jean-Paul Sartre "Change and growth take place when a person has risked himself and dares to become involved with experimenting with his own life." - Herbert Otto "Heed the still small voice that so seldom leads us wrong, and never into folly." - Marquise du Deffand "Your real influence is measured by your treatment of yourself." - A. Bronson Alcott "Energy and persistence conquer all things." - Benjamin Franklin "If we all did the things we are capable of, we would astound ourselves." - Thomas Edison "A man who finds no satisfaction in himself will seek for it in vain elsewhere." - La Rochefoucauld
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

