With a shillelagh under me arm, and a twinkle in my eye…

Lucid Films.

Sounds pretty good, right?  Lucid Films.  My friend Aaron came up with that years ago as the name of his production company should he start one.  I immediately stole it from him, and have used it ever since.  Lucid Films.  I effin LOVE it.

Last night, as I was driving home listening to the new Tiny Frank songs (Yes, I listen to my own songs.  Why write them if I am not going to listen to them? That makes no sense.) and I was struck by the quality of the recordings.  It’s not pristine studio quality, by any means.  It’s just recorded on a little hand-held MP3 recorder. However, there is a quality to the recordings I believe to be lacking in the studio stuff.  The songs sound genuine.  Real.  The energy of Stretch and I just hanging out jamming is completely captured. Add to that the “early days of vinyl” quality it has, and it sounds pretty golden.

This got me thinking; what if we recorded our entire second album that way, and released it as is? It’s not as if we are some super famous group getting ready to sign a contract and go on tour.  We are a guitar duo that happens to write songs our friends enjoy.  That’s it.  So, we don’t need to spend a fortune on some high-end recordings, when we can do it ourselves in a garage over a couple of drinks and cool conversation.

This got me thinking; I could call my “recording studio” Lucid Films.  Lucid Films Productions.  My rationale?  I had never realized (“thought of it this way” would be more accurate) that Lucid Films sums up my relationship to music.  Each song is a mini movie.  When I listen to a song, my imagination runs wild.  I feel intensely, and I experience a multitude of things. Each song is its own… wait for it… Lucid Film.

Not bad, eh?  Didn’t see that coming.  TINA FEY!  Didn’t see that coming either, did you?

So, Aaron, it’s official.  I am stealing Lucid Films as the name of my recording studio. Look for our first release, Tiny Frank’s second album, later this year.

I have missed you all.  It has been absolutely torturous not being able to write.  I would sit here and begin something, only to cut it in the end.  Or, worse yet, sitting here and writing nothing at all. It is the closest thing I can think of as far as relating to guys with E.D.

I realize this isn’t my best, but it was still nice to write and get to say hello.

See you soon.

About "Mike"

"We only become what we are by the radical and deep-seated refusal of that which others have made of us." - Jean-Paul Sartre "Change and growth take place when a person has risked himself and dares to become involved with experimenting with his own life." - Herbert Otto "Heed the still small voice that so seldom leads us wrong, and never into folly." - Marquise du Deffand "Your real influence is measured by your treatment of yourself." - A. Bronson Alcott "Energy and persistence conquer all things." - Benjamin Franklin "If we all did the things we are capable of, we would astound ourselves." - Thomas Edison "A man who finds no satisfaction in himself will seek for it in vain elsewhere." - La Rochefoucauld
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to With a shillelagh under me arm, and a twinkle in my eye…

  1. Alvin says:

    cool=-)

    Like

  2. I love listening to Tiny Frank’s first album. I pop over to the web site and just let it play. And I always wonder when you are going to be discovered. Like, how does that even happen? Please do the Lucid Films thing; It sounds awesome!

    Oh yeah, and I totally saw that TINA FEY! coming….

    Like

Leave a Reply

