“The tune will come to you at last When all are one and one is all”

The human spirit.  Capable of amazing things. In the face of severe adversity, a human being can become almost SUPER-human. Throughout history, we have seen individuals inflate and inspire millions – and change things forever. Rosa Parks refused to change seats, and now we have an African-American President. Beautiful.

I have thought lately about movies that show the best of the human spirit. I, originally, wanted to go with movies that were based on historical events. Even those movies are still “movies” that are “based on” the real story. So, I broadened my scope to include some other films I believe should be on the list.

So, for your consideration, I present a list of films that show the best of the human spirit.  These films inspire and ignite. They make you cry, or at least fight it. They make us feel what we should always feel – that we are all capable of so much more.

In no particular order:

  • Apollo 13
  • Rushmore
  • Hoosiers
  • The Kings Speech
  • Point Break (just kidding)
  • A Christmas Story
  • Shawshank Redemption
  • Field Of Dreams
  • Life Is Beautiful
  • To Sir, With Love
  • Mr. Hollands Opus
  • Cyrano de Bergerac

I know I left some out, but this was what I could think of. I am certain you have a movie that makes you want to take flight. Share it with me. I may not have seen it.

I must say, there are several titles I left off the list because they are not widely regarded as “inspirational” films. However, for me… they are.

Perhaps another time.

 

About "Mike"

"We only become what we are by the radical and deep-seated refusal of that which others have made of us." - Jean-Paul Sartre "Change and growth take place when a person has risked himself and dares to become involved with experimenting with his own life." - Herbert Otto "Heed the still small voice that so seldom leads us wrong, and never into folly." - Marquise du Deffand "Your real influence is measured by your treatment of yourself." - A. Bronson Alcott "Energy and persistence conquer all things." - Benjamin Franklin "If we all did the things we are capable of, we would astound ourselves." - Thomas Edison "A man who finds no satisfaction in himself will seek for it in vain elsewhere." - La Rochefoucauld
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “The tune will come to you at last When all are one and one is all”

  1. Being straight but not narrow, and hanging with a liberal crowd in a kinda liberal city, I don’t think I ever understood the bias gay people face every day, until I watched Brokeback Mountain. I was heartbroken to watch that struggle play out on the big screen. I feel like I learned something that stayed with me, and it made me want to fight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

