I’ve got the moves like Jagger (Yeah yeah)

I had a strange dream last night.

I was on a bus expedition taking an old dying man to some freezing-snowy-mountaintop laboratory trying to save his life by performing some top-secret-never-before-done experiment. Classic scenario. The old man was played by John Hurt in my dream.

The bus we were riding was huge. If it existed in reality, it would take up two lanes of a freeway huge. Huge. I was sitting at the back having a great time catching up with my old friend Leonardo DiCaprio. It had been years since I had seen him (despite the fact that we have never met) and it was really nice having the opportunity to chat with my friend. He was telling me stories and I was asking him questions. I made fun of a couple of his films, and his performance in them. He smiled politely but with the look in his eye that meant he would be kicking my ass later. Scraping was something Leo and I loved to do. He gave me my first bloody nose.

At some point I asked him, “I am leery to talk shop as I don’t want to sound like a fan boy, but… Tell me about Scorsese. Anything. What’s it like working with him?” I could tell by his body language, I was an old friend and welcome to ask whatever I wished. He really didn’t mind. “He’s amazing. Crude but to the point. Passionate. If I had to use one word to describe Marty, it’d be passionate.” “I nudged him with my elbow, “Look at you, calling him Marty.”

It was at this point in the dream that the main conflict was introduced. The reason for our being on this bus and where we were going. A young woman, early twenties, came up to Leo and I and begin talking about the procedure and the lab. She also mentioned that if it was successful she would finally be able to marry the older man – John Hurt, but not John Hurt. Something happened then which caused the bus to fill with water, and me to have my shirt off. It was also at this point the bus went from driving through the desert to being in the mountains. I spent the next section of the dream listening intently to ever word while struggling with putting my shirt back on at the same time. Yeah, it turned into one of those dreams.

Next thing I know, I am squatting in front of Martin Scorsese. Leo introduced us, as he just happened to be on the bus as well. (Gotta love dreams) He looked weird. More like someone in make up playing Scorsese than the actual Scorsese, but his voice was right so I went with it. I told him I loved his films, was an admirer for years and that I love the film Hugo. At that point what I was saying to him, even though I meant every word, felt like total bullshit. Before I finished, he cut me off. “What’s your normal style?”, he asked me. I was wearing a suit and tie on the bus, for some reason. I paused, “Uh,… olive-green Dickies and a t-shirt of some kind.” “Comfort.” “Yeah, I guess.” “What’s in your heart?” “Sin and music,” was my answer. The was a brief pause, so I began to talk about Hugo again. He cut me off, “Here’s my advice. F*ck lots of beautiful women.” I don’t know how I knew, but I knew the conversation was over. I had my chance, and I had blown it.

We arrived at the laboratory. It looked like the hideout for a Bond villain. Some thing happened here, but my awareness of the moment with Scorsese remained in my head, so I forgot most of it. I do know at some point a path gave way and I was holding on to Leo who was dangling from my arm over the edge of a cliff. “I gotta say it,” I told him. ‘Don’t you dare.” “I’ll never let go, Jack. I’ll never let go.” “I f*cking hate you, Mike.” Again with the magic of dreams, he was suddenly next to me on the cliff laughing just as hard as I was.

I have thought about what Marty said to me all day long. In trying to keep the romantic reputation of the man in my heart and head, I looked for a deeper meaning behind the crude words. Here’s where I landed;

Recognize the shallow and cherish the deep. Or, maybe he just told me to f*ck lots of beautiful women.

Wouldn’t it be cool if Leo had a dream he was on an oversize bus with John Hurt and Marty, talking to some guy he’s never met but who felt like an old friend?

The universe is a pretty amazing place.

\m/

About "Mike"

"We only become what we are by the radical and deep-seated refusal of that which others have made of us." - Jean-Paul Sartre "Change and growth take place when a person has risked himself and dares to become involved with experimenting with his own life." - Herbert Otto "Heed the still small voice that so seldom leads us wrong, and never into folly." - Marquise du Deffand "Your real influence is measured by your treatment of yourself." - A. Bronson Alcott "Energy and persistence conquer all things." - Benjamin Franklin "If we all did the things we are capable of, we would astound ourselves." - Thomas Edison "A man who finds no satisfaction in himself will seek for it in vain elsewhere." - La Rochefoucauld
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

