10. Coomer, O’Mara

Up until this moment, all of my titles have been lines from songs. Every. Single. Title. I guarantee you. Google that shit. I put down everything I own, I ain’t lyin’.

The above is the anomaly.

(Title Card: Last Week, Thursday)

I walk into a record store. It is a record store I did not know existed and just happened upon. It is in moments like these my inner Indiana Jones kicks in, and I must explore. For who knows what treasure may await the ardent adventurer who goes forth into the unknown….

[fast forward]

I’m holding an album I bought on an impulse. The band’s name? Harlem “Hippies”. (Yes, the quotation marks  are in the name.) The album has no title I can find. Granted, I haven’t looked on the actual record, because I am listening to it as I write this. In fact, as I wrote this I was listening to the song Gay Human Bones. <smack, smack=””> Stay on point McCullock!

I’m holding an album I bought on an impulse. The band’s name? Harlem “Hippies”. (Yes, the quotation marks  are in the name.) The album has no title I can find. I bought about six different records total, everything from The Kinks to The BEatles to Clarence “Gatormouth” Brown. <smack, smack=””> I’m GOOd, dammit! I’m good. I’m on point. Just follow. Geez.

I’m holding an album I bought on an impulse. The band’s name? Harlem “Hippies”. (Yes, the quotation marks  are in the name.)….

[fast forward]

Me: Hey. You want to listen to this with me? I have no idea who they are, or what they sound like.

Him: Sure!

{I put on Side A. Song starts….}

[long pause. VERY long.]

(He and I look at each other)

Together: I LIKE it!

I gotta tell you, I bought this record purely because of the cover. AND the name of the band.

Here. See?

See?

I swear to you, up and down, upside down, however the fuck it’s gonna make you believe me. I bought this on a whim. And, it ended up being one of my most favorite albums of all time.

{I just walked over and flipped the record to B. There is no album title on the actual vinyl record either.}

The photos on the album sleeve are oddly alluring, and quite beautiful. I leave it to those of you who may actually be interested, to converse with me further on this topic.

The beginning is always a delicate time. When you have nowhere to go but forward (or up) then forward is the way you go. The reemergence of the caterpillar as butterfly is a metaphor long used by those who seek to artistically make sense of this life. It is usually the symbol for rebirth or coming into “who you are”. If I have learned one thing on the limited time I have had on this big ball spinning out in the midst of everything, it’s that nothing remains the same. Nothing. It’s scary to think of our lives in the terms on a light bulb. It’s always comes on until it dies. Then it’s replaced. There is a comfort, a peace, in realizing I am no different from anyone else on this planet, and it is my job to carry no more or no less than anyone who may be standing beside me.

I love the Harlem “Hippies”.

\m/

About "Mike"

"We only become what we are by the radical and deep-seated refusal of that which others have made of us." - Jean-Paul Sartre "Change and growth take place when a person has risked himself and dares to become involved with experimenting with his own life." - Herbert Otto "Heed the still small voice that so seldom leads us wrong, and never into folly." - Marquise du Deffand "Your real influence is measured by your treatment of yourself." - A. Bronson Alcott "Energy and persistence conquer all things." - Benjamin Franklin "If we all did the things we are capable of, we would astound ourselves." - Thomas Edison "A man who finds no satisfaction in himself will seek for it in vain elsewhere." - La Rochefoucauld
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

